Report on Feile Shligigh 2015
<< Go Back

Eastern Harps Under-14 footballers secured the Feile Peil na n-Og ‘B’ title at the scenic Sligo GAA Centre of Excellence in Scarden recently. Playing a brand of fast direct football the young Harps men were quick out of the blocks and went on to win their first encounter against a game St Johns outfit. Expectations were high as we prepared to take on Sligo town stalwarts St Marys in our next game with a place in the semi-finals at stake. Again our lads were up for the challenge and victory was secured after a very entertaining game of fast open football.

Calry-St Josephs were making waves on Pitch 2 and were emerging as many expert's favourites for ultimate honours. By now our lads were growing in confidence and were determined not to surrender without an almighty fight. At half time there was little or nothing between two very evenly matched teams with Harps having the advantage of the breeze in the second half. This proved to be decisive and they went on to book their place in the final against St Marys after an enthralling encounter.


The final itself proved to be a ding-dong affair. Marys were ready for us this time and two very fit but tired teams served up an absolute cracker. Play swung from end to end with Harps facing in to the second half against the strong wind with a slender four points lead. However our lads showed their true character with a fantastic display of courage, heart and no mean skill to clinch the title much to the joy of their many supporters.


Congrats to all our players on the way they behaved on the day. They are a credit to their families and to Eastern Harps GAA Club. Every player listed gave of their best and made a significant contribution to a memorable victory. Thanks to the many parents for their support and for providing transport.


Eoin Dowd, Kieran Breheny, Kacper Grzenda, Diarmuid Higgins, Robin Richardson, James Campbell, Eoghan Higgins, Luke Hogge, Donnacha Byrne, Eoin Connolly, Kyle Cosgrove, Killian Burns, Seamus Connolly, Michael Kielty-McManemy, Cormac Kielty, Matt Henry, Caelan Hunt and Dylan Walsh.

Other panel members missing on the day - Eoin O’Gara, James Kiernan, Finn Bruen, Darragh Cogan, Diarmuid Dowd, Padraig Taheny, Matthew Tansey.


Well done to the Coaches – P.J. Langton, Mark Cosgrove, Damien Mc Govern, and Eamonn Clarke (great to see two legends back).


Sincere thanks to Sean Scott and Joe Murphy of Coiste na n-Og Shligigh on organising what proved to be a very enjoyable day. Everything ran smoothly and on time. Thanks also to the referees.


Finally, a huge thank you to Veronica and Ivan Campbell for so generously sponsoring the food for all the players afterwards.

Lean na Clairsigh. Loch Garman here we come !!!!!!

Premium Sponsors

  • Fox's Den
  • East Brothers
  • McHugh Express
  • Drury's Bar Monasteraden
  • O'Dowd Transport
  • Macs Pub
  • Tansey's Centra
  • James Duffy Accountant

Our Latest Tweets